Faculty Positions in the Department of Astrophysics at the University of Science and Technology of China

Scan to enter the Ad linkThe Department of Astrophysics (http://astro.ustc.edu.cn/) at the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), which was named as the Center for Astrophysics (CFA), was initiated in 1978 and is one of the earliest institutions for modern astrophysics in China. The astrophysics discipline at USTC belongs to national key disciplines as well as the 1st level subjects of astronomy, and is qualified to support postdoctoral positions. In collaboration with Shanghai Observatory, the CAS Key Laboratory of galaxies and cosmology was established in our department in 2008. At present, we are supported by a number of fund projects including the NSFC Innovation Group, the National Outstanding Youth Fund, key projects, 973 projects, CAS Priority Programs, Hundred Talent Programs, Junior Thousand Talent Programs, the National Outstanding Youth Fund, Ten Thousand Talent Programs, and so on. Considering the discipline developments and the call of research, the Department of Astrophysics at USTC invites applications for a number of tenured or tenure track faculty positions in all ranks. Candidates with research interests in all areas of Astronomy and Astrophysics are encouraged to apply. Candidates should have strong commitment to teaching and demonstrated excellence in research. Postdoc experience is required at the time of appointment. Candidates for senior positions must have an established record in conducting globally recognized research and securing external funding.

PositionsRequires
Full ProfessorPhD in astronomy or physics; younger than 45; internationally influenced achievements in the research field with high level academic reputation; is able to supervise PhD students as well as to teach undergraduate/graduate courses.
Associate ProfessorPhD in astronomy or physics; younger than 35; postdoc experience is required; outstanding achievements in the research field in recent years; is able to supervise graduate students as well as to teach undergraduate/graduate courses.

USTC offers internationally competitive compensation packages with fringe benefits including medical insurance, retirement and housing subsidy. Salary and rank will commensurate with qualifications and experience. Applicants who meet the above criteria will be recommended by USTC to apply the national projects under “1000Plan Professorship”, “Changjiang Scholars Program of Ministry of Education of China –Distinguished Professor”, “1000Plan Professorship for Young Talents”, or “Hundred Talents Program of Chinese Academy of Science - Young Talents”, depending on their performances. For more information please visit (http://employment.ustc.edu.cn/en/). All applicants shall have a qualified reputation of the innovative researches in various frontiers of astrophysics/cosmology (including theory, observation, numerical simulation, or experimental instrument). Our department has participated in the international collaboration of the Subaru PFS project (http://pfs.ipmu.jp/). All faculty members with their fields are listed in the following table.

FacultyEmailPersonal PageResearch area
Cai, Yi-Fuyifucai@ustc.edu.cnstaff.ustc.edu.cn/~yifucai/Cosmology
Xu Kongxkong@ustc.edu.cnstaff.ustc.edu.cn/~xkong/Galaxies
Liu, Guilinglliu@vt.edu Galaxies
Hojun Mohjmo@astro.umass.edupeople.umass.edu/hjmo/Cosmology, galaxies
Huiyuan Wangwhywang@mail.ustc.edu.cnwww.researchgate.net/profile/Huiyuan_Wang2Large Scale Structure, AGN, galaxies
Junxian Wangjxw@ustc.edu.cnstaff.ustc.edu.cn/~jxw/AGN, high redshift galaxies
Tinggui Wangtwang@ustc.edu.cn AGN, high redshift galaxies
Yu Wangwywa@ustc.edu.cn LSS, galaxies
Yongquan Xuexuey@ustc.edu.cnstaff.ustc.edu.cn/~xuey/AGN
Yefei Yuanyfyuan@ustc.edu.cnstaff.ustc.edu.cn/~yfyuan/High energy astrophysics




Yang Zhangyzh@ustc.edu.cn Cosmology, gravity waves




Wen Zhaowzhao7@ustc.edu.cnstaff.ustc.edu.cn/~wzhao7Cosmology, gravity waves
Hongyan Zhoumtzhou@ustc.edu.cn Quasars, galaxies
Qingfeng Zhuzhuqf@ustc.edu.cn Interstellar medium, astronomical instruments

To apply, please provide a cover letter identifying the primary area of research, curriculum vitae, list of publications, research and teaching statements, and arrange for at least three recommendation letters, all submit to Dr. Yifu Cai with an subject as 'CFA Faculty Position Search at USTC/Your Name' by email (yifucai@ustc.edu.cn) by March 31, 2016. The positions are open until filled, but materials should arrive by the deadline to ensure full consideration. For further inquiry, please reach (+86)-551-63603746.